NSI Totally Television - Faculty

Presented by the National Screen Institute in association with Bell Media

Julie Di Cresce, Program Advisor


Julie Di Cresce has worked in broadcast programming and production for over 10 years. She is passionate about storytelling and has cultivated strong creative and market instincts, shepherding countless feature films, documentaries and series through development and into production.

Most recently she was head of development at Two In Hand Media, the production arm of Vanguarde Artists Management. Prior to that she was VP of TV development at First Generation Films, and the director of Canadian programming at Super Channel where she was responsible for their original programming strategy, commissioning shows such as Slasher and What Would Sal Do? (developed through NSI Totally Television) as well as pre-licensing series and feature films including feature-length documentaries.

She also held the post of director of original programming for HBO Canada where she managed a robust slate of series in development and was acting production executive on all series greenlit into production including Call Me Fitz, Pillars of the Earth, Rogue and Less Than Kind (developed through NSI Totally Television).

She was the program advisor for the 2014 NSI Features First film program and the program manager for the inaugural Bell Media Producer Accelerator Lab, a program designed to give mid-level producers the tools to work effectively with broadcast partners.

Joy Loewen, Program Manager


Joy is a passionate supporter of the production, promotion and exhibition of Canadian art and artists.

Having previously worked as a broadcast and festival programmer at WTN (Women’s Television Network), CBC and the Gimli Film Festival; program manager at NSI and On Screen Manitoba; and executive director at Freeze Frame Media Arts Centre for Young People, Joy’s specialty lies in mentoring, showcasing and promoting a diverse range of media projects and the artists who create them.

Joy is also an active volunteer with leadership roles in several Winnipeg non-profit organizations.

Her passion and commitment to supporting artists and emerging talent extends into her volunteer work as a member of the Yorkton Film Festival, Rainbow Stage board of directors as well as the Winnipeg Foundation’s strategic initiatives committee.

Joy previously served as president of the Balmoral Hall Parent Association and co-chair of the Yes, She Can! Dinner honouring The Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean. She is past chair at Balmoral Hall School and currently a civilian aide to The Honourable Janice C. Filmon, Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba.

Associate faculty

Executive producer mentors and producer resources

Kerry Appleyard, Temple Street Productions
Peter Blackie, Take the Shot Productions
Rob Blackie, Take the Shot Productions
Colin Brunton
Tom Cox, SEVEN24 Films & Distribution360
Jocelyn Hamilton, Entertainment One
Jennifer Holness, Hungry Eyes Film + Television
Christina Jennings, Shaftesbury
Al Magee, Magee TV
Jane Maggs, Back Alley Film Productions
Adrienne Mitchell, Back Alley Film Productions
Laura Notarianni, Temple Street Productions
Carrie Paupst Shaughnessy, marblemedia
Sudz Sutherland, Hungry Eyes Film + Television
Samantha Traub, Temple Street Productions

Story editor mentors and story editor trainers

David Barlow
Jeff Biederman
James Hurst
Aaron Martin
Ellen Vanstone


Helen Asimakis, CBC
Corrie Coe, Bell Media
Michelle Daly, CBC
Zach Feldberg, CBC
Tom Hastings, CBC
Rachel Nelson, Corus Entertainment
Nataline Rodrigues, Rogers Media


Rachel Fulford, Entertainment One
Justin Rebelo, Entertainment One
Michael L Smith, BBC Worldwide Canada
Jessica Watson, Boat Rocker Rights


Glenn Cockburn, Meridian Artists
Lesley Harrison, Lesley Harrison Agency
Arvand Khosravi, William Morris Endeavor

Lawyers and services

Melissa Amer, Canada Media Fund
Annelise Larson, Veria Search Media Marketing
Frank Manzo, National Bank of Canada
Gigi Morin, Duncan-Morin LLP
Mickey Rogers, M Rogers Media
Andra Sheffer, Independent Production Fund, Cogeco Program Development Fund
Jim Sternberg, Complete Productions Solutions