She Stoops To Conquer, Gloria Ui Young Kim, Kayla Lorette win NSI Online Short Film Fest awards

She Stoops to Conquer

The National Screen Institute – Canada (NSI) recently handed out the latest awards in the NSI Online Short Film Festival.

  • She Stoops To Conquer, directed by Zachary Russell, won the $1,250 A&E Short Filmmakers Award for best film;
  • Gloria Ui Young Kim won the $1,000 Corus Fearless Female Directors Award for best direction by a female for Flamenco; and
  • Kayla Lorette won the $1,000 Brian Linehan Actors Award for her work in She Stoops To Conquer.

All winners receive a complimentary Friend membership to the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television.

The award selection was made by an independent jury: TIFF programmer Lisa Haller, Atlantic Film Fest programming director Jason Beaudry and filmmaker Kristina Mileska – recent winner of the Corus Fearless Female Directors Award for her film Asteroid.

Our jurors had this to say about the films:

A&E Short Filmmakers Award for best film: She Stoops To Conquer

Lisa Haller: “Intriguing, immersive and wonderfully unique, She Stoops to Conquer is expertly crafted by director Zachary Russell. A talent to watch!”

Jason Beaudry: “A transformative experience in more ways than one. You’ll be different for having seen it.”

Kristina Mileska: “A beautifully executed film with a unique tone, great performances and a plot that keeps you guessing.”

Director Zachary Russell said, “Thank you so much for this honour – for me, a real encouragement to keep making films. This was my first film, and any success it’s had is thanks to my wonderful collaborators.”

Corus Fearless Female Directors Award: Gloria Ui Young Kim for Flamenco

Lisa: “With a striking aesthetic and clear directorial vision, Gloria Ui Young Kim boldly expresses a woman’s isolation and emotional struggle through flamenco dance.”

Jason: “An overdose of meta in the best way possible. A moving and lively re-imagining of the opera Carmen that showcases Gloria Ui Young Kim’s technical skill with emotional heft.”

Kristina: “Very well conceived and executed. It tells a powerful story entirely through movement that kept me captivated throughout its entirety.”

Director Gloria Ui Young Kim said, “I’m so thrilled to win this incredible award! Thank you to NSI and the jury for seeing my vision and selecting my film. This is for all fearless females everywhere.”

Brian Linehan Actors Award: Kayla Lorette for She Stoops To Conquer

Lisa: “Kayla Lorette is exceptional as a struggling talent-show performer. As she physically transforms for her on-stage performance and dives head-first into the role, you are immediately drawn to her bizarre and beautifully complicated character.”

Jason: “There are as many delicate layers to Kayla Lorette’s performance in She Stoops to Conquer as there are to the ‘borrowed skin’ that she wears throughout. You can’t take your eyes off of her from start to finish.”

Kristina: “Kayla Lorette in She Stoops to Conquer shines through the makeup and delivers an incredibly memorable performance.”

Kayla Lorette said, “I am delighted to receive The Brian Linehan Actors Award. I’m incredibly proud of this short film and look forward to creating more with my dear co-writer and director Zack Russell.”

About the jury

Lisa Haller is the senior programming associate at the Toronto International Film Festival where she considers Canadian and international short films for TIFF and selects student short films for Canada’s Top Ten Film Festival.

Jason Beaudry is the director of programming for the Atlantic Film Festival, the East Coast’s gateway to epic and unforgettable stories for the past 37 years.

Kristina Mileska is a Toronto-based filmmaker and a past winner of the Corus Fearless Female Directors Award.

The NSI Online Short Film Festival is made possible through the support of Festival Partner Telefilm Canada; Supporting Sponsors Entertainment One, Super Channel, Corus Entertainment, Blue Ant Media, The Brian Linehan Charitable Foundation and Breakthrough Entertainment; Award Sponsors A&E Television Networks, The Brian Linehan Charitable Foundation, Corus Entertainment and Blue Ant Media; and Industry Partner the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television.

All media enquiries

Laura Friesen, Manager, Communications & Alumni Relations
Phone: 204.957.299 or email:

Leave a comment