Call for short films; over $4K to be won in the NSI Online Short Film Fest

$4,750 in cash awards are available to be won through the National Screen Institute’s Online Short Film Festival. Short films are being accepted from now until Friday, March 18, 2016 at 4:30 p.m. CST.

Films that meet award criteria are eligible for the $1,250 A&E Short Filmmakers Award, the $1,000 Brian Linehan Actors Award and the $1,000 Shaw Media Fearless Female Director Award. These awards are presented four times a year. The $1,500 Blue Ant Media Documentary Award is presented twice a year. Read more about the awards.

Submit your film.

Entries must not exceed 30 minutes in length – the shorter the better. Drama, comedy, animation, documentary, sci-fi, horror, music video and experimental are all eligible but must be made by a Canadian writer, director or producer. The festival accepts films released after January 1, 2011. There is no submission fee. Films must be available online (YouTube or Vimeo) for viewing by the selection committee.

The NSI Online Short Film Festival is a year-round Canadian short film showcase with new films added every week.

All NSI Online Short Film Festival winners receive a complimentary Friend membership for the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television.

The NSI Online Short Film Festival is made possible through the support of Festival Partner Telefilm Canada; Supporting Sponsors Entertainment OneSuper ChannelCorus EntertainmentBlue Ant MediaBrian Linehan Charitable Foundation and Breakthrough Entertainment; Award sponsors A&E Television Networks, the Brian Linehan Charitable FoundationShaw Media and Blue Ant Media; and Industry Partner Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television. NSI Core Funders are Manitoba Tourism, Culture, Heritage, Sport and Consumer Protection and the City of Winnipeg through the Winnipeg Arts Council.

All media enquiries

Laura Friesen, Manager, Communications & Alumni Relations
Phone: 204.957.299 or email:


  1. Shahana Mojumder

    why not filmmakers from Asia? its very sad. :(

  2. andree-anne

    How come filmmakers from quebec aren’t allowed to participate? ain’t quebec part of canada??

Leave a comment